Are City the greatest English team?

Manchester City

 (AP) - The figures speak for themselves. Fourth consecutive Premier League title for Manchester City. The sixth in seven editions confirms even more the dominance of this club.

For coach Pep Guardiola, it is the 17th trophy with City in eight years of being in charge of the club. And the figure could rise to 18 if City beat Manchester United next week in the FA Cup final. It is a set of major trophies in this period, in addition to the triumph in the Champions League for the first time last season.

City secured the title of the 2023/2024 edition on Sunday, at the end of the Premier League edition.

Apart from Liverpool in 2020, no other team in the English top flight has come close to City since Guardiola started their trophy-winning run in 2018 when they lifted the Champions League trophy.

Guardiola had already won two consecutive titles, in 2018 and 2019 with totals of 100 and 98 points, before this streak was ended by Liverpool. In 2021, City won the English title again and have been a dominant force in the  island and became the first English team to win four consecutive top-flight titles.

City's greatness was also shown last season when they won the treble: Premier League, Champions League and FA Cup. This team has won the League Cup three times during these successful years, while also reaching the final of the Champions League in 2021.

The greatest English team of all time? No doubt.

City could dominate the debate over who is the best team in England for years to come.

Liverpool (1982-84)

Liverpool won the English top flight three times in a row, 1982-84 - a period in which they triumphed in the European Cup and three League Cups.

But that was just one of the successful spells during 1973-90 in which he won 11 league titles and four European Cups, among other major titles.

The dominance with several coaches started with Bill Shankly and ended with Kenny Dalglish, but only once was the "hat-trick" of titles achieved.

The first two were won under manager Bob Paisley and the third was won by Joe Fagan, who also led the team to European Cup and League Cup triumphs that season.

In 1985, Liverpool were beaten in the title race by Merseyside rivals Everton, but immediately in the next edition, they won back the title and also the FA Cup.

Manchester United (1999-2001)

At the time when Alex Ferguson won the "hat-trick" of titles with United from 1999-2001, he had come close to this success twice before.

In 1995, two-time champions United were one point behind winners Blackburn.

After regaining the title in 1996 and defending it in 1997, United were one point behind the winners, Arsenal, in 1998.

In 1999, United not only won the title again, they won the treble. In addition to the Premier Leagues, he also won the Champions League and the FA Cup.

Manchester United (2007-2009)

After three years without a title, the United team was rebuilt and began another period of dominance, inspired by Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney.

Won a hat-trick of titles from 2007-2009, and lifted another Champions League trophy in 2008. United reached the Champions League final in 2009 and again in 2011.

This period also includes the League Cup in 2009.

The title winning streak was snapped by Chelsea in 2010, when United were just a point behind the leaders, once again.

Successes worth mentioning

Arsenal are the only team in the Premier League to finish the season without defeat, in the 2003-2004 edition - and the players took the title of "Invincibles".

Preston were the first team in the English football elite to finish the entire season unbeaten. Became the first team to win the league and the FA Cup in the 1888-1889 edition.

Huddersfield (1924-1926) and Arsenal (1933-1935) had periods of dominance and each won a hat-trick of titles in the run-up to the European Cup, when it has been difficult to judge teams against rivals around Europe.