Eight EU countries call for sanctions against Russia over Navalny's death

Eight European Union countries on Wednesday called for sanctions against Russia's prosecutors, courts and prison officials over the death of Kremlin critic Alexei Navalny, Reuters reported.

The letter, which was sent to the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs, Josep Borrell, was signed by the foreign ministers of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Sweden and Romania.

As it is known, the call was also supported by the Netherlands, France, Ireland and Denmark.

"Mr. Navalny's death is yet another sign of accelerated and systematic repression in Russia. This requires collective action. We believe there is a strong case for imposing specific sanctions on Russia," the foreign ministers' letter said. "The regime The new sanctions will provide a strong legal basis for targeting individuals from Russia's repressive state apparatus, including those who have taken politically motivated decisions against members of civil society and the democratic opposition, such as those responsible within the judicial chain – prosecutors of the courts", the letter further states.

Navalny died on February 16 in a prison in Russia. The wife and his supporters have accused President Vladimir Putin of Navalny's death, a charge the Kremlin denies.