Spain: The situation of Palestine differs from that of Kosovo

Spain and Kosovo

Spain has said that Kosovo's situation with the Palestinian state is completely different, as it has reiterated that it has not changed its position on Kosovo's citizenship.

Spain is one of five European Union countries - along with Cyprus, Greece, Slovakia and Romania - that do not recognize Kosovo's citizenship, announced in February 2008.

The main reason for the non-recognition of the state of Kosovo by Spain is believed to be related to the Spanish attitude towards the aspirations of its northeastern region, Catalonia, to become independent.

This region has had several unsuccessful attempts to separate from Spain, while official Madrid has strongly opposed this move.

"The situation in Palestine is different. The recognition of the State of Palestine does not affect the territorial integrity of Israel, since that territory has never been legally part of the State of Israel", said Elena Aljarilla Cortezon, media adviser at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Spain, in an answer to Radio Free Europe.

According to her, the decision taken on May 28, to officially recognize the citizenship of Palestine, is in accordance with international law, the principles of the Charter of the United Nations and the resolutions of the Security Council of the United Nations, which are binding, after are approved.

The issue of recognition of Kosovo by Spain was discussed at the meeting of EU Foreign Ministers on May 27 in Brussels.

Some sources have told REL that at this point there was an open dispute between the parties from Germany and Spain.

While Germany was "very convincing" for the recognition of Kosovo, "Spain was on the defensive, arguing that Kosovo was not on the agenda".

Along with Spain, Norway also recognized Palestinian citizenship on Tuesday.

Ireland will follow suit later in the day.

Spain's Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said this morning that his country would recognize Palestinian statehood, including the Gaza Strip and the West Bank with East Jerusalem as its capital.

He has said that Spain will not recognize any change to the borders established in 1967, unless the parties agree.